What makes a readable story?

There is no correct answer to the question I suspect and I will not provide panacea to all. However I have researched as much as I can, I love the internet, and the key seems to be a story people (ie the readers) talk about. They need a hook, something to ask “You’ll never believe what happened to……. in this book” or something similar. Word of mouth is the most powerful marketing tool there is particularly when you are trying to pursuade people to spend their money. Rightly so, they take convincing – want value for money.
The key to generate the vibe – people talking – is social networking! You need to link you twitter feed to your blog which updates your facebook group or status or is that the other way around? I’m banking on people telling people – the fact that my story is quite incredulous and makes great hairdresser gossip, has generated some self- confidence that people will buy it but I still need more.
My logical business brain says that in order to make the story readable you need to define and understand your target market. Ive thought and talked that through in my head and with others – I dont know who wouldnt want to read it? Even those who star in it, will have a level of mordbid curiosity that will demand they scan it at least.
Although I do not want it to be forgetable. One of these books you read, because you dont want to have to think too much. People have to be amazed at the story and tell others.

There is real purpose to writing and publishing this; to enable others to get through whatever it is that life is throwing at them; to find humour in even the darkest corners of the duvet; to make money and improve the life that I now find I have; provide a stable and supportive future for my son; to thank all those who have been constantly at my side supporting, hugging, wiping away tears, taking away the chocolate cake! providing the chocolate cake, listening to me go on and on… etc; and I will admit there is a small part of me that smiles at the thought of retribution (but thats only a minor part I promise!)

So, in my view, the story will be readable but probably more importantly, a story people will talk about (I hope!)

Posted by bekidaviesduvet at Wednesday, January 20, 2010 0 comments
One Response to “What makes a readable story?”

  1. Mr WordPress Says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

